The original light on the point of Southport Island on the east side of the mouth of the Sheepscot River was built in 1829. A fire required rebuilding of the keeper's house in 1875.
The station was discontinued in 1933, sold to private owners, then reestablished and automated in 1951. In 1991 the five-acre property was again sold to private owners who have carefully and accurately restored the structures to original appearance.
The light can be photographed from the beach in Southport or from a tour boat. It is a beautiful lighthouse in a picturesque setting and well worth tracking down.
Categories & Keywords
Category:Architecture and Structures
Keywords:Hendricks Lighthouse, Lou Kellenberger, Maine Lighthouse, historic, historic building, lighthouse, lighthouse digest, maine